Department Info

home RETURN HOME

The City of Menasha Police Department provides full 24 hour a day public protection service to the community. The Department serves over 18,250 residents, patrols 7.76 square miles, and 86.36 miles of streets.

The Department is staffed by:

  • Chief of Police - Nick Thorn  (920-967-3501, nthorn@menashawi.gov)
    • Deputy Chief - Angie Hanchek  (920-967-3502, ahanchek@menashawi.gov)
      • Community Liaison Officer
    • Lieutenant of Investigative Services - Pete Sawyer  (920-967-3504, psawyer@menashawi.gov)
      • Two Investigators
        • Investigator Vicki Strebel  (920-967-3549, vstrebel@menashawi.gov)
        • Investigator Denton Heidemann (1/2 Crime Analyst)  (920-967-3557, dheidemann@menashawi.gov)
      • Four School Resource Officers
        • SRO John Abrahamson (Menasha High School)  (920-967-3568, jabrahamson@menashawi.gov)
        • SRO Josh Gallagher (Maplewood Middle School)   (OIC)  (920-967-3573, jgallagher@menashawi.gov)
        • SRO Kate Oberle (Elementary Schools - Jefferson, Butte Des Morts, Banta)   (OIC)  (920-967-3551, koberle@menashawi.gov)
        • SRO Rick Heinen (Elementary Schools - Clovis, Gegan, Virtual School)   (OIC)  (920-967-3560, rheinen@menashawi.gov)
      • One Officer in the Lake Winnebago Enforcement Group (MEG Unit) as an investigator
      • Evidence Custodian - Cyndel Sawall  (920-967-3595, csawall@menashawi.gov)
    • Five Supervisory Lieutenants
      • Lieutenant Matt Albrecht  (920-967-3519, malbrecht@menashawi.gov)
      • Lieutenant Matt Lenss  (920-967-3514, mlenss@menashawi.gov)
      • Lieutenant Adam Schulz  (920-967-3517, aschulz@menashawi.gov)
      • Lieutenant Matt Spiegel  (920-967-3518, mspiegel@menashawi.gov)
      • Lieutenant Joel Nelson  (920-967-3513, jnelson@menashawi.gov)
        • K9 Cami 
    • Officers Assigned to Patrol
      • Officer Nick Oleszak  (920-967-3559, noleszak@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Amy Cook  (920-967-3556, acook@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Chris Groeschel  (920-967-3571, cgroeschel@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Dan Hoernke   (OIC)  (920-967-3552, dhoernke@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Ray Berna  (920-967-3572, rberna@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Kellen Gennrich   (OIC, PTO)  (920-967-3553, kgennrich@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Derrick Rotta  (920-967-3570, drotta@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Michael Oney   (OIC, PTO) (920-967-3550, money@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Aaron Schaefer   (PTO)  (920-967-3565, aschaefer@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Jason Eake   (PTO)  (920-967-355, jeake@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Bryan Van Alstyne  (920-967-3554, bvanalstyne@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Samuel Vassar  (920-967-3558, svassar@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Nate Brownie  (920-967-3567, nbrownie@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Jordan Batchelor  (920-967-3564, jbatchelor@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Joe Svitak  (920-967-3566, jsvitak@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Katelyn Lynch  (920-967-3569, klynch@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Jalen Gottschalk  (920-967-3562, jgottschalk@menashawi.gov)
      • Officer Shelby Birkholz  (920-967-3563, sbirkholz@menashawi.gov)

**OIC: Officer in Charge; PTO: Police Training Officer**

If you would like to contact an Officer please call (920) 967-3500
or
EMAIL US
Please indicate the officer you would like to speak to and any relevant report numbers.

In addition we have:


All officers have Body cameras